Google Adds Undo Send Feature to Gmail
Posted on June 23, 2015
Google has announced a feature called "Undo Send" for Gmail. Like it sounds the feature gives Gmail users a short time period to unsend an email. The cancellation period can be changed by users and ranges from 5 seconds to 30 seconds. The announcement was made in the Google Apps Updates blog and not in the Gmail blog.Google says in the announcement, "'Undo Send' allows people using Gmail to cancel a sent mail if they have second thoughts immediately after sending. The feature is turned off by default for those not currently using the Labs version, and can be enabled from the General tab in Gmail settings."
Unsending an email can be very useful if you are concerned you might send an email to the wrong person. People using the same Gmail account for work and personal usage might encounter this time of problem.
The unsend feature has been part of Google Labs for some time. Google says, "People currently using the Labs version of 'Undo Send' will have the setting turned on by default at launch."
VentureBeat says Google added Undo Send to Gmail as a Labs feature in 2009.